Post-NaNoWriMo Update

National Novel Writing Month ended a little over a couple of weeks ago, but I’ve only just recovered in its aftermath. I am happy to report that I have recently regained the strength to feed and clothe myself again. So, of course, my next order of business was to write some more (I really do believe that a great majority of artists suffer from this sort of masochism). But then, if I wasn’t so self-abusing, I wouldn’t have started this blog and we would not be enjoying each other’s company right now–which I sincerely hope you’ll agree would be a terrible shame indeed.

For those interested, while I did not reach the coveted 50,000 word goal, I did write just shy of 12,000 words. I don’t feel too bad about it because I’m a slow writer. As a very good friend pointed out, I struggled with just getting a few hundred words a day on paper, much less the 1667 words per day the challenge called for. At first, I felt bad, like I had failed somehow. But then I realized (aside from my friend being awesomely correct), I may not be as prolific a writer as some of my heroes, but that doesn’t make me any less of a writer.

So, instead of looking at this as a failure (which is really the wrong way to look at most things), I choose to view this as even more data with which to get to know myself better (my strengths, weaknesses, preferences, etc…), and see ways to improve, not to ways to tear myself down. In this post-NaNo world, I will keep on writing, even if it means that it takes me months to write a manuscript (which is actually a normal timeframe), I will finish it and share it with the world–or at least an appreciative few.

Let me hear your NaNoWriMo stories and help inspire your fellow readers with your writing words of wisdom, encouragement, or cautionary tales of muse whispering.

Leave a Reply

